Auto Insurance Coverage in California
California’s Auto Insurance Coverage You’ll be happy you requested a quote from GEICO if you recently relocated to California and require auto insurance coverage or if you’ve been here for some time and are seeking for affordable car insurance that doesn’t skimp on coverage. So, how much does California auto insurance cost for your vehicle? To learn more, request a free online vehicle insurance quotation from GEICO. Read on to learn more about California’s distinctive auto insurance laws that make doing business here different from doing business in other jurisdictions.
Minimum California Car Insurance Coverage
California requires drivers to carry at least the following auto insurance coverages:
- Bodily injury liability coverage: $15,000 per person / $30,000 per accident minimum
- Property damage liability coverage: $5,000 minimum
- Uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage¹: $15,000 per person / $30,000 per accident minimum
- Uninsured motorist property damage coverage¹: $3,500 minimum
Even though these are the bare minimums that California law mandates, every individual’s insurance requirements are different. For a tailored recommendation, use our coverage calculator.
California Car Insurance Laws for New Residents
The California Driver Handbook is a useful tool if you’re moving there. The Department of Motor Vehicles issues it. It can give you instructions on how to register your vehicle, get a California driver’s license, and learn significant state traffic laws.
What is the California Deductible Waiver?
- You can be qualified for the California Deductible Waiver if your car has collision coverage. If an uninsured driver causes an accident, your insurance provider will cover your car’s collision deductible thanks to this waiver.
California Registration Information
Depending on when you enter California, your car may need to be registered there. After the vehicle entered California, fees must be paid within 20 days to avoid penalties.
You will need to:
- Complete an Application for Title or Registration (REG 343)
- Submit your out-of-state registration certificate
- Submit your out-of-state title (If you have it)
- Provide evidence of the California Smog Certification
- Provide an odometer mileage certification (If your vehicle is less than 10 years old)
- Bring your vehicle to a DMV office for verification of the vehicle’s identification number. (For your convenience, we recommend that you schedule an appointment by calling your local DMV.)
- Pay the fees
- Commercial vehicles, including pickup trucks, may also require a weight certificate
A use tax is currently levied on any car bought outside of California and transported into the state within a year after purchase. The payment of use tax on a car acquired outside of California and transported into California within 365 days of the purchase date is now mandated by new legislation, which is in effect from October 1, 2004, through July 1, 2006.
What do I do if I get a California Intent to Suspend Registration letter?
- You can get a letter informing you that the state of California intends to revoke your car’s registration if they are unable to verify that you have insurance on it. This may occur if the state of California doesn’t have the proper VIN (Vehicle Identification Number) on record, if your insurance coverage for California (or another state) has expired, or if there was a mistake in the data the state of California received.
- If the California DMV has advised you that giving proof of insurance is sufficient and you currently have a GEICO policy, you can simply get the necessary documentation using our GEICO Mobile app.
- Get a quote right away if you don’t already have a GEICO coverage and are curious about how much California auto insurance might cost.
Car Insurance Discounts in California
CA Good Driver Discount
In California, motorists who meet specific requirements may earn at least a 20% discount on their auto insurance cost. Good drivers deserve a break. A good driver in California is someone who2:
- Possesses verified licensing experience dating back at least three years;
- Has a current license in the United States or Canada, which experience must be verifiable, and confirms that they have had a license for the past 18 months in any country other than the United States or Canada;
- Hasn’t racked up more than a single Department of Motor Vehicles point in the previous three years. A point is typically given for breaking a vehicle code or being “principally at fault” in an accident3. If the driver was at fault in an accident, it must not have been fatal or seriously hurt them.
- Has not been convicted of any specified felonies or driving while intoxicated (drugs or alcohol) violations in the previous ten years4.
Speak to one of GEICO’s auto insurance agents, if you have any questions.
California Good Student Discount
If a teen or young adult driver in California meets all of the requirements listed below, they may be eligible for the Good Student Discount:
- Possess no more than eight years of driving experience
- Are enrolled full-time in a high school, college, or university academic home study program.
- Have a minimum GPA of B or its equivalent.
To find out how much you may save with a good student discount, request a quotation right away.
California Teen Driving Laws
If you’re the parent of a teen who is getting close to the driving age, you and your teen should know that:
- Teen drivers in California must complete driver education and acquire a provisional permit; they must be at least 1512 years old to do so.
- Drivers in California must be 16 years old and hold a provisional permit for at least six months before they may apply for a license.
- Applicants must then pass the DMV administered driving test before receiving a provisional driver’s license.
- They can only drive between 5:01 am and 10:59 pm for the first 12 months of the provisional license and only with passengers who are over 21. When that temporary period is up, they are given full driving rights.
California Driving Resources
California Insurance Agents
Connect to us however you choose. We can help you with our team of knowledgeable local insurance agents and our multi-award winning app. Learn more about GEICO insurance agents in California.
You can also check out how we’re making insurance easier in the app with 1 click bill pay, digital ID cards, access to roadside assistance, and more. Download GEICO Mobile today. We make insurance easy.